Gentoo Linux Review


So it’s been a month that I’ve switched to Gentoo Linux. I must say that I gave it a very long and careful thought. I was intimidated at first with the idea of even spelling the name of Gentoo Linux and there is a reason for that. Thing is from the very beginning, since the day I first made the switch from Windows to Linux a thought was planted in my brain that Gentoo is the most hardcore Linux distribution there is…but as I learned that is far from the truth.

Basically you compile everything from source, it’s not like a traditional binary Linux distribution. You build it from scratch, step by step and you decide what and how you want things to be built. The end result is that you get a very highly customized Linux operating system that is fine tuned for your hardware and all the software is built on that same machine as well as optimized for your architecture. Not only does it result in a boost of speed but the main benefit I saw using Gentoo was in the customization of software using what they call USE flags.

USE flags are a pretty interesting concept. Let’s say you want to install a software like Firefox. You can see what USE flags it uses and then you can add or remove the flags  to enable or disable certain features like whether it should use pulseaudio or alsa for audio playback. Whether Firefox should have native language support for your country built in or if you want to add gstreamer support to have native video decoding capabilities. There’s hundreds of different USE flags depending on the type of software you are interested in and they can all be tweaked to suit your needs. This customization option is pretty much unavailable on a binary distro unless you are compiling stuff manually which for the most part can break a lot of stuff in your system. Thus this makes Gentoo a really attractive Linux distribution for experienced Linux users.

Anyway for me personally it took me two weeks to have a fully working system with all issues fixed from touchpad to suspend to ram, audio, etc. now working perfectly fine. It was a rather interesting learning experience for me as for the first time I learned how to compile the Linux kernel from scratch…actually I had to do it 5-6 times to have a fully working setup.

If I had to reinstall Gentoo from scratch may be I would have to give it a second thought because it is quite time consuming. Most of your time is spent reading and learning from the wiki, very less time on actually doing something trivial. But once you have figured it all out you know what to do so the subsequent installations should be much faster. A good idea is to always clone the image of your Gentoo install and back it up elsewhere once you have figured everything out.

Is Gentoo for you? Well if you can set aside time for it and you have the patience and the will power to learn then it is definitely worth it. Personally there were times while setting up Gentoo when I felt hopeless, frustrated and was about to give up. But the burning desire in me to cross over to the other side and be with the elites of the Linux world kept me going. Some of the most talented and smartest people I know in the Linux community use Gentoo and you will never understand what Gentoo is like until you have actually installed it. I think if you are a serious Linux user and you just want to learn how all the underlying parts of the Linux operating system fit together then this learning experience is definitely worth it.

After having used Gentoo, I can never look at another Linux distribution the same way again. On my previous Arch Linux install (on my netbook) I had issues with browsers like Chromium and Firefox, they used to crash randomly especially during video playback but after having installed Gentoo it didn’t even crash once. Smooth, stable, fast in my opinion the Gentoo experience is second to none.

Leave a Reply

